HaysMed Administrative Team

John H. Jeter, MD

President/Chief Executive Officer

About Dr. Jeter

John H. Jeter, M.D. serves as President/Chief Executive Officer of the Hays Medical Center. Previously, he served as Vice President for Medical Services and, before holding that position, was a physician in private practice. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Systematics and Ecology from the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, and his M.D. from the University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City, Kansas, and completed residency training in Emergency Medicine at Truman Medical Center, Kansas City, Missouri.

Dr. Jeter completed his Master of Science in Health Administration from the University of Colorado in July, 1997 and in 2003 was named its outstanding alumnus. Dr. Jeter is a member of the American College of Emergency Physicians, the Kansas Chapter of American College of Emergency Physicians, the Kansas Medical Society and the American College of Physician Executives. Dr. Jeter previously served as the chairperson of the Kansas Hospital Association and as the director on the University of Kansas Alumni Association National Chapter. He currently  resides on the KU Biodiversity Institute Board.

Harms Original Large

George Harms

Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

About George

Mr. Harms is responsible for the Finance, Materials Management and Health Information Management departments. He earned a Bachelor’s degree in accounting from Western State College in Gunnison, Colorado and a Masters of Business Administration in Operations Management and E-Commerce from Regis University in Denver. Involvement in both professional and community activities include the Healthcare Financial Management Association, the American Institute for Certified Public Accounts, Boy Scouts and local arts councils.

Mr. Harms has 27 years experience in healthcare with a broad background in healthcare finance that lends in-depth insight and expertise to our organization.

Bryce A. Young

Chief Operating Officer

About Bryce

Bryce Young serves as Chief Operating Officer. He has held this position since June, 2004 and is responsible for the nursing, pastoral care, pulmonary medicine, hospice, pharmacy and inpatient and outpatient physical, occupational and speech therapy departments. Prior to assuming the role of Chief Operating Officer, he served as the Vice President of Cardiovascular Services where his primary responsibilities included the formalization, growth, and development of the Michael E. DeBakey Heart Institute of Kansas, the Corporation’s cardiovascular program.

He coordinates the efforts of cardiologists, cardiovascular surgeons, and cardiovascular-related departments. Before joining the Corporation, Mr. Young served on the executive management staff of Ransom Memorial Hospital in Ottawa, Kansas as Director of Managed Care and Reimbursement. He received his Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of Missouri and his Masters of Science in Health Administration from the University of Colorado. He is a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives and the Kansas Association of Healthcare Executives.

Applequist, Joannah original

Joannah Applequist

Chief Legal Officer/Corporate Compliance Officer

About Joannah

As Chief Legal Officer, Ms. Applequist is responsible for providing and directing legal services for the Corporation.  As the Corporate Compliance Officer, she is responsible for managing and overseeing all aspects of the Corporation’s Compliance Program.

Prior to joining the Corporation in January of 1996, Ms. Applequist was an attorney in private practice.  She graduated from Fort Hays State University Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political Science and a minor in French, and received her Juris Doctor degree from the University Of Oklahoma College Of Law.  Ms. Applequist is a member of the American Health Lawyers’ Association, Association of Corporate Counsel, Health Care Compliance Association, Kansas Association of Hospital Attorneys, Kansas Bar Association, and the Ellis County Bar Association (Past Treasurer).

Terry J. Siek

Chief Nursing Officer and Vice President for Patient Care

About Terry

Terry J. Siek, MSN, RN is the Chief Nursing Officer at Hays Medical Center, Hays, KS. In 24 years at HMC, he has been a staff nurse, charge nurse, house supervisor, nursing orientation instructor, director of special projects, and director of education. In his role Mr. Siek is responsible for all aspects of nursing care at the medical center including inpatient, outpatient and clinics. He also works with the pastoral care department and Hospice.

He graduated from Fort Hays State University with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing in 1991 and a Master of Science in Nursing in 2002. He is board certified in Nursing Administration and a member of the Kansas Organization of Nurse Leaders.

Shae C. Veach

Vice President Regional Operations & Marketing

About Shae

Shae C. Veach, is the Vice President of Regional Operations at Hays Medical Center. He also serves as the Network Director for the Northwest Kansas Critical Access Hospital Health Alliance. Mr. Veach will oversee the outreach strategies for the Northwest Kansas Health Alliance, the 23 Critical Access Hospitals. He will also be responsible for the Marketing and Communications departments at Hays Med.

Shae comes to Hays Med from the Stanton County Hospital and Long Term Care Unit in Johnson, Kansas where he has served as the CEO/Administrator since 2003. He comes to HaysMed with vast experience in strategic planning, staff development, hospital service line expansion and enhancement, quality oversight and marketing and community relations. Shae earned a Bachelors degree in Business Administration from Emporia State University in Emporia. He has served as the President, Vice President and Secretary for the Pioneer Health Network; Chair/Vice Chair of the Kansas Hospital Association (KHA) District Representative Committee; and President, Vice President and Member of the Stanton County Recreation. He is currently the Chairperson for the KHA Policy and Advocacy Group, Committee Member of the KHA Strategic Planning Committee and Board Member for Associated Purchasing Service.